Crowder Quill Ceremony and Poetry Reading Slated for May 9

Neosho, MO – The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony with a campus- and community-wide poetry reading. The event will take place Thursday, May 9 at 7 p.m. in the Elsie Plaster Community Center Auditorium on the campus of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo.

“This year’s ceremony and publication continues the 39-year tradition of our mission to encourage and showcase our area’s authors and artists,” said Latonia Bailey, Crowder Quill adviser since 1994.

The event includes the announcement of those whose entries were chosen to be published in the 2019 edition and awards presentations.  All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony.

Afterwards, the magazine will be unveiled, and light refreshments will be served. The public is welcome.

Hand-delivered Quill art entries are now available for return by arrangement. Entrants should email

A PowerPoint Presentation will showcase the winning photography and art entries during the ceremony. Remaining entries will not be displayed but will be available for pickup after the ceremony.

The Magazine Production class comprise the staff and judged the entries, designed the magazine, and host the ceremony. Current staff members are Bretton Cole, Neosho; Sam Hoover, Neosho; Maegen Lightner, Neosho; Glory Reitz, Neosho; Madelin Sanchez, Stotts City; Maggie Smith, Joplin; and staff adviser Latonia Bailey, Neosho.

Begun in 1980, the Quill is published each spring; the contest runs from May 1 to Feb. 1 each year, and divisions are high school, Crowder students, and community adults. The categories are fiction, nonfiction, poetry, 2D art, 3D art, digital art, color photography, and black and white photography. Entries are received online via the website

Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:

Anderson: Saige Bennett, Maya Dally, Ryan Herod, Autumn Hottinger, Ryan King, Tristen Miller, Makayla Stone, Leandra Toomoth, Henri Whitehead, Steve Wilson
Asbury: Kyndal Channel
Aurora: Andrew Benton
Bartlett: Diamond Bogle
Carl Junction: Adrian Bittner, Savannah Dillard, Stormi Norton
Carthage: Madelynn Capps, Sydney Hartless, Sadie Maples, Koral Martin, Paul Wright
Cassville: Lacey Elkins, Michelle Hilburn
Diamond: Nicole Kost
Eldorado Springs: Kristi May
Exeter: Tyler Dallis
Goodman: Allie Jackson, Theresa Walthall
Jane: Sunshine Morris
Joplin: Braden Bare, Mystelle Dueker, Hailey Gordon, Austyn Guthrie, Maxwell Heckman, Mallory Kienzle, Tyler Langford, Debra Lucas-Wolf, Lucy Martin, Billie Holladay Skelley, Lauren Spaulding, Olive Thompson, Ciera West
Lamar: Autumn Shelton
Monett: Dorice Lester Baty, John Baty, Jr., Chelsie Lamar, Alyson Massardo, Bri Murphy, Annie Smith
Neosho: Nicole Ambrose, Latonia Bailey, Barry Charter, Bretton Cole, Madelin Cooper, Anna Davila, Christopher Doyle, Sam Hoover, Skylar Howe, Jordan Jones, Jaclyn Kidd, Issac Wallace Kinslow, Michelle Kleinbak, Ashley Lawson, Laimchia Lee, Maegen Lightner, John Mills, Esmeralda Ortega, Kirby Reardon, Glory Reitz, Hanna Selman, Shaenna White, Jacob Hall, Haixiao Qin
Noel: Aidan Chamberlain, Alondra Hinojosa, Diana Salas, Ryann Rosenbohm;
Pierce City: Jennifer Conner
Pineville: Madeleine Bell, Laney Brock
Pittsburgh: Noel Glenn, Seth Potter
Purdy: Kayla Branstetter, Bayleigh Schad, Alexandra Serrano
Republic: Rhiannon Hyde
Seneca: Skyler Smith, Samantha Thompson, Ragan Wilson
Southwest City: DeAnnah Britton
Stark City: Lilia Monroe
Stotts City: Madelin Sanchez
Webb City: Kaitlin Barnett, Alyssa Logan, Margarite Stever, Karli Washburn




Last Updated on April 16, 2019 by