Quill Ceremony and Poetry Reading Slated May 10

The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony with a campus- and community-wide poetry reading. The event will take place Thursday, May 10 at 7 p.m. in Elsie Plaster Community Center Auditorium on the campus of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo.

The public is welcome. RSVPs for poetry are requested; others are welcome to the microphone as time permits. Poetry that is NOT published in this edition of the Quill is encouraged, as the magazine will be made available following the ceremony.

“This year’s ceremony and publication continues the 38-year tradition of our mission to encourage and showcase our area’s authors and artists,” said Latonia Bailey, Crowder Quill adviser since 1994.

The event also includes the announcement of those whose entries were chosen to be published in the 2018 edition and awards presentations.

All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony. Afterwards, light refreshments will be served.

Hand-delivered Quill art entries are now available for return by arrangement. Entrants should email Lbailey@crowder.edu or call 417-455-5410.

A PowerPoint Presentation will showcase the winning photography and art entries during the ceremony. Remaining entries will not be displayed but will be available for pickup after the ceremony.

The Magazine Production class comprise the staff and judged the entries, designed the magazine, and host the ceremony. Current staff members are Dexter Ballay, Monett; Kaitlin Barnett, Neosho; Tana Burkhart, Joplin; Sam Hoover, Neosho; Jennifer Ishcomer, Neosho; Kenzie Kallio, Oologah; Emilee Kuschel, Monett; Megan Murphy, Neosho; Morgan O’Brien, Seneca; Kirby Reardon, Neosho; and staff adviser Latonia Bailey, Goodman.

Begun in 1980, the Quill is published each spring; the contest deadline is Feb. 1 each year, and divisions are high school, Crowder students, and community adults. The categories are fiction, nonfiction, poetry, 2D art, 3D art, digital art, color photography, and black and white photography. Entries are received online via the website www.CrowderQuill.com.

Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:
Anderson: Saige Bennett, Tiffany Blevins, Mikinnley Colville, Regan Eads, Octavianna Hackett, B.L. Reeves, Leandra Toomoth, Henri Whitehead, Sierra Wilson, Faith Curtis;
Aurora: Kim McCully-Mobley;
Bentonville: Haleigh Hull, Juliana Varghese;
Carl Junction: Stormi Norton, Jessica Sellers;
Carthage: Daniel Percy;
Cassville: Benjamin DeVore;
Exeter: Tyler Dallis;
Goodman: Mallory Carpenter, Nichole Danner, Dalton Eppesson, Makayla Stone, Abigail Tolentino, Theresa Walthall;
Granby: Jacqueline Cole;
Joplin: Rebekah Burchfield McCleary, Mary Calhoun, Meredith DeNisco, Tiffany Durbin, Tyler Langford, Cade Lyerla, Maxwell Mitchell, Rainier Pena, Billie Holladay Skelley;
Lanagan: Ruby Palomo;
Lockwood: Seth Williams;
Monett: Jaxon Courtney, Megan Hibbard, Shawn Maxwell, Kaitlyn Moore, Corina Rodriguez, Amy Sampson, Layne Skiles, Grace Wormington, Joby Young;
Mount Vernon: Mandie Dawson, Sydney Thompson;
Neosho: Cathleen Bailey, Barry Charter, Christopher Doyle, Camrie Houk, Skylar Howe, Jaclyn Kidd, John Mills, Bonnie Ray, Glory Reitz, Brandi Unruh, Jacob Walker;
Noel: Jesseca Raney, Hanna Schmit;
Pineville: Sarah Reynolds, Natalie Staib;
Powell: Aaron Allison;
Purdy: Savannah Burch, Anah Dover, Jose Perze, Bayleigh Schad;
Rogers: Luis Monares;
Seligman: Samantha Gundel;
Seneca: Josh Leyva;
Springdale: Luis Linares;
Stark City: Lily Monroe;
Stella: Kelli Brennand;
Verona: Anna Snuffer;
Webb City: Megan Arthur, Alyssa Logan, Margarite Stever

Last Updated on May 2, 2018 by Steven Brunson