Crowder Quill to unveil Covid-themed publication

Neosho, MO – The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony on Tuesday, May 4 at 7 p.m. in the Elsie Plaster Community Center on the campus of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo.

For the 2021 edition, The Crowder Quill art and literary magazine and Crowder Theatre Department collaborated on a special project in which Covid-themed entries were considered for both the publication and stage performance.   

“This year’s ceremony and publication celebrates enduring a global pandemic with creativity and resiliency,” said Latonia Bailey, Crowder Quill adviser since 1994.  “Our area’s authors and artists are once again showcased in order to encourage their talents.” 

The event includes the announcement of those whose entries were chosen to be published in the 2021 edition and awards presentations.  All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze, or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony.

Afterwards, the magazine will be unveiled, and light refreshments will be served. The public is welcome to attend. Covid protocols will be observed throughout the ceremony and reception. Participants should observe social distancing guidelines and wear masks except when eating.

Hand-delivered Quill art entries are now available for return by arrangement. Entrants should email

A PowerPoint presentation will showcase the winning photography and art entries during the ceremony. Remaining entries will not be displayed but will be available for pickup after the ceremony.

Covid-themed entries were accepted in any of the publication categories of writing, photography, or art. In addition to the opportunity for placement in the magazine, the Theatre Department selected entries to be performed on stage April 22-23. The performance was called “Masks and Music: Stories from Quarantine.”  Art selections depicting the theme were displayed digitally during the performance as well.


“Our hope was to provide a space to express and celebrate our community’s creativity during this unique time,” said Tasha Davies, Theatre Department Head.


The Crowder Quill publication includes but was not limited to Covid-themed entries.


Quill staff members of the 2021 staff are as follows: Catie Abruzzo, Neosho; Rachel Campbell, Neosho; Samuel Carlson, Independence; Dora Gilreath, Neosho; Kherz’den Humphrey, Joplin; Sarah Jones, El Dorado Springs; Lindee Mitchell, Cassville; Nona Stewart, Kodiak, Alaska; and Adviser Latonia Bailey, Neosho.


Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:

Anderson: Leandra Toomoth, Jamie Malone, Steve Wilson, Brianna White, Henri Whitehead, Kristin Cornell, Katelyn Ferdig; 

Asbury: Anna-Kaye Vanglider; 

Arora: Felix Barrientos, Maddy Swearington; 

Bentonville: Samantha Trujillo; 

Carl Junction: Konnar Davenport, Faith Lunow, Francesca Mitchell, Dawson Skelley, Atley Wright; 

Carterville: Tessa Shaw; 

Carthage: Paul Wright, Cheyenne Lasiter; 

Duenweg: Emma Ogden; 

El Dorado Springs: Alexis Barnett; 

Goodman: Theresa Walthall; 

Granby: Aleah Ummel; 

Joplin: Elyssa Beasley, Olivia Honeyball, Peyton Talley, Braden Bare, Christopher Doyle, Hailey Koester, Zoe Love, Nellie Mitchell, Channing Cramer, Billie Holladay Skelley, Annie Ward,  Chantel Smith; 

Lamar: Darcy McDonald; 

Monett: Dorice Baty, Tyler Dallis, Alyson Massardo, Breanna Perkins, John Baty Jr., Corina Rodriguez; 

Neosho: David Bravo, Lydia Chapman, Carl Cobb, Keaghan Hancock, Reese Miller, Tabbitha Schmelzer, Lydia Chapman, William Gil, Ryan Kidd, Glory Reitz, Skyla Bartleson, Charlotte Boettler, Elijah Fregia, Christian Garcia, Yvette Mendoza, Alexandra Paige, Kirstin Rothman, Kyle Stumpff, Jakobe Harris, Michael Kiele, Hailey McNeill, Suzanne Ratcliff, Zoe Riley, Davon Willis, Dora Gilreath, Madeline Brown, Winona Stewart, Cassandra Jordan; 

Noel: Kayla Reese; 

Pea Ridge: Candice Kordek; 

Pierce City: Jennifer Conner; 

Pineville: Kiara Marion; 

Pittsburg: David Zacharias; 

Purdy: Kayla Branstetter, Drew Graham, Jasmine Holloway; 

Seneca: Erin Poor; 

Webb City: Margarite Stever, Alyssa Logan;