Library to Host Annual Local Author Symposium

April 24, 2018

Office of Public Information
For Immediate Release

Crowder Library to Host Annual Local Author Symposium

Neosho, MO-The Friends of the Library will be having its second annual Local Author Symposium May 2, from 10am-4:30pm in Wright Conference Center located inside the Arnold Farber building on the Neosho campus.

“Our local community has a distinct history and culture which is created, supported, and engaged through the arts. Our local authors’ works represent an important piece of that application. Both fiction and non-fiction materials provide us a medium with which to find agreement or dissonance, allowing us to gain, through the writer/reader relationship, a deeper understanding of who we are. It’s important that we support and interact with them as they move forward in their literary work. It’s also important that we provide a platform of collaboration, to foster the development of potential future authors,” stated Eric Deatherage, Lee Library Director.

Authors will be available for one-on-one conversations and several will be reading from their works. A reading schedule is available at: [LINK HAS BEEN ARCHIVED]

Authors scheduled to attend include: Jeremy Billingsley, Lea Carter, Steve Cottrell, Doug Dickey, Holly Farnsworth (representing Allen Kent), Dr. David and Lisa Frisbie, Martha Haut, Nancy E. Hughes, Helen K. Hunter, Lisa Livingston-Martin, Beverly J McCauley (BJ McCauley), Cynthia Middaugh, Rebekah A. Morris, Thomas S. Mulvaugh (pen name Paul Herd), Ana Ramirez, Lee Ann Sontheimer Murphy, Billie Holladay Skelley, Karen Spicer-Wolven, Dan Trogdon, Randy Turner, Cathy Wolven.

The event is free and open to the public. Community members are encouraged to attend.


For more information contact the Eric Deatherage, Lee Library Director at 417.455.5610 or my office.

Cindy Brown
Director of Public Information
Crowder College
601 Laclede Ave
Neosho, MO 64850

Last Updated on April 24, 2018 by Steven Brunson