

## April 14, 2014

## For Immediate Release

Office of Public Information Phone: 417-455-5540

E-Mail: <a href="mailto:cindybrown@crowder.edu">cindybrown@crowder.edu</a>

## **Crowder Quill Awards Ceremony Set**

**Neosho, MO** - The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony with a 4th annual campus- and community-wide poetry reading and luncheon. The event will take place Thurs., May 8 from 11-1 in the Wright Conference Center, on the Neosho campus.

The public is welcome to attend. RSVPs for poetry are requested; others are welcome to the microphone as time permits. Poetry that is NOT published in this edition of the Quill is encouraged, as the magazine will be made available following the ceremony.

The event will also include the announcement of those whose entries were chosen to be published in the 2014 edition and awards presentations.

Quill art entries are now available for return by arrangement. Entrants should email <a href="mailto:Lbailey@crowder.edu">Lbailey@crowder.edu</a> or call 417-455-5410.

All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony. Afterwards, a light lunch will be served, and the magazine will be unveiled.

A PowerPoint Presentation will showcase the winning photography and art entries during the ceremony. Remaining entries will not be displayed but will be available for pickup after the ceremony.

Begun in 1980, the Quill is published each spring; the contest deadline is Feb. 1 each year, and divisions are high school, Crowder, and the community. The categories are fiction, nonfiction, poetry, 2D art, 3D art, digital art, color photography, and black and white photography.

Entries are received online via the website <a href="www.CrowderQuill.wordpress.com">www.CrowderQuill.wordpress.com</a>.

"One great advantage of the website is that photography, 2D art and even 3D art can be submitted online," said Latonia Bailey, *Crowder Quill* adviser. "There's no need to bring it in or pick it up, and then it makes the magazine production easier for us as well because the entry is already in electronic form."

Members of the 2014 staff are Taylor Best, Joplin; Karen Davidson, Pea Ridge, Ark.; Amelia Hill, Carl Junction; Aaron Kocurek, Neosho; Ryan Land, Neosho; Anissa Morris, Neosho; Joanna Savalza, Neosho; and adviser Latonia Bailey, Goodman.



The Crowder Quill recently received a national award of "Best Community College Literary Magazine" from the American Scholastic Press Association for the 2013 edition.

The Magazine Production class, Comm 111, is offered in the spring semesters; anyone is welcome, but Eng. 101 is a prerequisite.

Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:

Jessie Collins Alba

Charlene Bergen Anderson Aaron D. Goldstein Anderson

Mary DuMond Anderson

Patti Richardson Anna, Texas

Joshua Q Dunn Aurora

Kim McCully-Mobley Aurora

Jessica Jenkins Aurora

J.Kent Allred Bella Vista, Ark.

Bryce Boyd Carl Junction
Jessica Sellers Carl Junction

Kayla Hopper Carl Junction

Emily Cole Carl Junction

Kaitlyn Gooch Carl Junction

Cary Crocker Carthage

Liz Spencer Diamond

Tyler Dallis Exeter

Jessica Cole Granby

Eli Cole Granby

Jessica Cole Granby

Lea Carter Granby

J.M.Cole Granby

R.L. Preston Greenfield

Briana Wilson Joplin

Erin Kennedy Joplin

Ruth Loy Joplin

Deanna Bingham Joplin

Aaron DuRall Joplin

Joseph Klink Joplin

Michael G. Jernigan Joplin

Ann Jernigan Joplin

Rose-Marie Speck Joplin

Sophia Miller Joplin



Cynthia Middaugh Lamar Katherine Hackney Lockwood Amy M. Sampson Monett

Dorice F. Baty Monett

Sofia Sanchez Salcedo Neosho Christine Kernell Neosho

Allen Bishop Neosho
Joshua Smith Neosho
Tiffany Hamill Neosho
Tori Murray Neosho
Casey Stueber Neosho
Tori Murray Neosho

Aaron M. Kocurek Neosho

Casey Stueber neosho Alec Fehring Neosho Anissa Morris Neosho Barry Charter Neosho Neosho Alec Fehring Leslie Wright Neosho Vada Harris Neosho Karissa Wiley Neosho Joshua Foster Neosho Sandy Jordan Neosho Eric Lazure Neosho

Esther Aidelomon Neosho

James Walls Neosho Josiah Reitz Neosho Julio Gonzalez Noel

Cheyenne Pickett Oronogo

Gracen Frazier Oronogo

Alexandria T Andrews Pierce City

**Brysten Duncan Pierce City** 

Payton Atchison Pineville

Verona

Nisa Moss Seligman
MarLeah Cole Seneca
Josh Leyva Seneca
MarLeah Cole Seneca
Brandi Pool Seneca
Shobi Burris Stella
Rebecca Hance Stella

Pam Dorton



Abigail Danley Webb City Susan Covert Webb City Lyda Yang Wheaton

Marie Jones Wyandotte, Okla.

###

Please contact Latonia Bailey at 417-455-5410 or e-mail: <a href="mailto:lbailey@crowder.edu">lbailey@crowder.edu</a> for additional questions.