

April 29, 2016

For Immediate Release
Office of Public Information

Quill ceremony and poetry reading slated for May 6

Neosho, MO - The Crowder Quill, a literary and art magazine of Crowder College, will host the annual awards ceremony with a campus- and community-wide poetry reading. The event will take place Friday, May 6 at 7 p.m. in Elsie Plaster Community Center Auditorium on the campus of Crowder College in Neosho, Mo.

The public is welcome. RSVPs for poetry are requested; others are welcome to the microphone as time permits. Poetry that is NOT published in this edition of the Quill is encouraged, as the magazine will be made available following the ceremony.

"This year's ceremony and publication continues the 36-year tradition of our mission to encourage and showcase our area's authors and artists," said Latonia Bailey, Crowder Quill adviser since 1994.

The event will also include the announcement of those whose entries were chosen to be published in the 2016 edition and awards presentations.

All published entrants will receive a certificate for gold, silver, bronze or honorable mention. Award placements will not be announced until the ceremony. Afterwards, light refreshments will be served.

The ceremony is being hosted in conjunction with the Art Department's student art open house in which a reception will be held from 5 to 7 p.m. in the Longwell Museum.

Hand-delivered Quill art entries are now available for return by arrangement. Entrants should email Lbailey@crowder.edu or call 417-455-5410.

A PowerPoint Presentation will showcase the winning photography and art entries during the ceremony. Remaining entries will not be displayed but will be available for pickup after the ceremony.

The Magazine Production class comprise the staff and judged the entries, designed the magazine, and host the ceremony. Current staff members are Clara Brodeur, Diamond; Ulises Camacho, Rogers, Ark.; Rebekah Clay, Pineville; Whitney Crinklaw, Stockton; Vada Harris, Neosho; Megan Kehoe, Neosho; Celeste Ponce, Neosho; Katherine Pollock, Neosho: Christian Smith, Joplin; Kaylee Starks, Granby; Drew Young, Pierce City; and adviser Latonia Bailey, Goodman.

The Crowder Quill recently received a national award of "Best Community College Literary Magazine" from the American Scholastic Press Association for the 2015 edition, the third consecutive year for the prestigious award. Members of the 2015 staff were Alexis Arenas-Andrade, Springdale, Ark.; Kerrigan Arnold, Reeds Springs; Alyssa Beck, Buffalo; Jacob Dalton, Anderson; Logan Hamby, Neosho; MaryBeth Hertzog, Pleasant Hill; Kate Kelley, Neosho; Ashley McGee, Jane; Sofia Sanchez Salcedo, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Owen Swearingen, Wheaton; Drew Young, Pierce City; and adviser Latonia Bailey, Goodman.

Begun in 1980, the Quill is published each spring; the contest deadline is Feb. 1 each year, and divisions are high school, Crowder students, and community adults. The categories are fiction, nonfiction, poetry, 2D art, 3D art, digital art, color photography, and black and white photography. Entries are received online via the

website www.CrowderQuill.com.

Winners of the contest, sorted by hometown, are as follows:

Anderson

Kierra Weber

Karynn Alley

Jilberto Alejo

Kristan Anacito

Alisha Dziennik

Henri Whitehead

neiiii vviiiteilea

Leandra Tuggle

Jewell Parnell

Aurora

Merry Anne Tate

Kim McCully-Mobley

Bella Vista

Mary Stewart

Carl Junction

Mark Cole

Jessica Sellers

Sevie Kinzer

Stormi Norton

Carly Reeves

Makayla Draeger

Carthage

Taylor Haskins

Cassville

Teresa Boston

Diamond

Liz Spence

El Dorado Springs

Jennifer Snyder

Exeter

Tyler Dallis

Fort Smith

Julio Gonzalez

Goodman

Aydan Hutchinson

Amanda Quinn

Granby

Gabriel Cole

Jacqueline Cole

Kaylee Starks

Greenfield

Jennifer Benson

Joplin

Salma Moustafa

Seth Wolfshorndl

Jera White

Joanne Kim

Sarah Aggus Brianne Shackles Ethan Ross Chris Smith Lauren Jackson Sophia Miller Tiffany Durbin

Liberal

Catherine Williams

Miami Elise Siler

Monett Amy Sampson John Baty, Jr. Collin Randles Itzel Cervantes Jovany Serrano Emilee Kuschel

Mount Vernon Linda Sparkman

Neosho
Esmeralda Hernandez
John Mills
Sandy Peters
Skylar Howe
Tori Murray
Kaitlyn Welch
Leslie Wright
Megan Kehoe
Alec Fehring
Barry Charter
Latonia Bailey
Vada Harris
Emily Waldrop

Noel Ryann Rosenbohm Kayla Reese Parker Owens

Celeste Ponce

Pineville
Darren Clay
Daniel Cowen
Rebekah Clay
Lacey Boze

Pleasant Hill Mary Beth Hertzog

Rich Hill Melissa Entrikin

Seneca Fanita Forero Chayse Jones Sarah Hill Verona Seth Hilton

Webb City Travis Scheerer Reese Dalton Margarite Stever

Wentworth Nicole Foster

Wheaton Lyda Yang

Neosho