

Contact: Ann

Brand Interim MCCA Executive Director (314) 856-2632 (mobile) (573) 634-8787 (office) ann.brand@mccatoday.org

SATER RECEIVES DISTINGUISHED LEGISLATOR AWARD FROM MISSOURI COMMUNITY COLLEGE ASSOCIATION

Branson, Missouri – Friday, November 7. The Missouri Community College Association presented Sen. David Sater (R-Cassville) with the association's Distinguished Legislator Award at a ceremony in Branson today. The award was given in recognition of Sater's strong support of Ozarks Technical Community College and of community colleges around the state.

Dr. Hal Higdon, Ozarks Technical Community College chancellor, praised Sater, saying, "Senator David Sater represents a broad part of Southwest Missouri, but does not neglect any part of his district. Our Table Rock Campus resides in Senator Sater's district and we know we can always call on him to support Missouri's community colleges in the state senate."

Sater represents the 29th District, which includes Barry, Lawrence, McDonald, Stone, and Taney counties. He previously served four terms (2004-2012) in the Missouri House representing the 68th District. Sater is a native of Barry County, where he owned and operated Sater Pharmacy for almost 30 years.

This year marked MCCA's fiftieth annual convention. Association members celebrated the milestone by hosting several former community college leaders at the convention, including Dr. Norman Myers, founding president of Ozarks Technical Community College; Dr. Don Shook, founding president of East Central College, St. Charles Community College, and St. Charles Community College; and Dr. Jim Kellerman, former MCCA executive director.

The Missouri Community College Association is a statewide organization through which Missouri's community colleges work together to advance common agendas. MCCA provides advocacy, education, information, and networking opportunities in service of the state's 5,700 community college faculty, staff, administrators, and trustees.



Photo of Senator Sater with Crowder Board of Trustees Larry Vancuren.